The message that freezes your iPhone

The message that freezes your iPhone

A security breach leaves useless the Apple mobile without the need of clicking on a link.

 

 

The iPhone 7 from Apple in one of their stores. JACK TAYLOR (AFP) (GETTY-QUALITY)
The iPhone 7 from Apple in one of their stores. JACK TAYLOR (AFP) (GETTY-QUALITY)

 

 

 

Just open a message, to freeze the iPhone and, in some cases, leaving it useless.It is not the first virus that spreads via SMS or messaging, but are surprised by be activated without the need to open a link that used to be the standard way of doing phishing (to capture passwords) or to impersonate the identity stealing credentials.

The bug has been discovered thanks Abraham Masri, a young developer, who has called the failure ChaiOS and published it on GitHub, a store programming. In a statement to BuzzFeed explains that what he found when he was crumbling parts of the operating system and was adding characters in the internal code.

Also posted it on his Twitter profile: “This text message freezes the mobile phone of the recipient and will surely have to reinstall everything again. Do not use with a bad purpose”.

 

 

This means that someone who wants to harm the mobile phone of a third party only has to submit it and wait for them to open. After tests on several models of iPhone, the bug affects almost all models with iOS from version 10 to 11.2.5 beta 5, the penultimate. Apple has released the beta 6 on Wednesday morning.

iMessage is the messaging system of Apple, not just its mobileAlthough it has not yet been tested, the researcher examines whether it might affect Mac computers in a similar way to an error that occurred in 2015.

 

The account of Masri on GitHub has been cancelled. He can’t access but you can access the contents of their creations. “It is public access, so anyone can copy and hold in other place. I don’t intend to do anything wrong. My idea was to reach out to Apple and let them see that you have been ignoring my warnings of failures. I always do it before they get the final version of something”, she says in BuzzFeed, “once signaled a failure that deactivated the screen of the mobile. Something that should not be able to be done. They signaled and they told me that they seemed like a topic to take into account”.

Apple has not made any statement about it.

SOURCE > El mensaje que congela tu iPhone



Leave a Comment